Travel plans are underway for the summer, however keep in mind that each state has its own set of rules and laws. Check out your destination’s laws before traveling.
There are several examples of this that may be applicable to your situation. The best thing to do is to think about your planned activity and how the laws of your state are applicable compared to your neighboring state’s laws. For example, if you are going to a firearms convention, hunting or just including activity at a range, each state has its own gun laws which effect the possession and transport of firearms. Pennsylvania’s firearm laws are different from New Jersey’s. If you travel from Pennsylvania to the Jersey shore, be aware that many types of handguns are not permitted in New Jersey that are permitted in Pennsylvania. Plus handguns must be registered with local law enforcement well in advance in order to possess them in New Jersey.
Another example of how laws differ from state to state concerns traveling via motorcycle. New Hampshire, Illinois and Iowa are the only states where you can ride a motorcycle without a helmet. Other states vary in age, circumstance and weather conditions as to whether a helmet is mandatory.
Tobacco and alcohol cannot be sold to anyone under the age of 21, however in Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, New Hampshire, West Virginia and DC the consumption of alcohol starting at the age of 18 is legal when in the presence of parents and for religious or medical purposes. The only exception to buying tobacco products starting at the age of 18 is if the person is a member of the military.
Finally the traffic laws are different in each state. While speed limits on the highway are generally 55 miles per hour, some states allow up to 65 and 70 miles per hour on the highway, in less populated and rural areas. The point system for violations varies from state to state and most states will transmit a violation back to your home state’s Department of Motor Vehicles. New Jersey and Pennsylvania notify each other of violations which will translate into points against your license in your home state even if the state where you received the violation assigns no points to the violation. Lastly, not all states and municipalities allow a ‘right turn on red.’
It is well worth checking out the laws of your destination state. This can easily be done through Google, visiting the destination state’s website or calling their travel information center. Enjoy your summer and vacation plans!